our 2nd monthly console session!

hi all! it’s the beginning of another month, so we’ll be holding another console session at batou’s place!

date: saturday 4/10/08
time: 6pm
address: (for privacy reasons, please sms me at nine7916927 for ck’s address if you don’t have it already)

this next session will be a great opportunity for us to discuss details for the upcoming tourney event, so it’d be good if everyone attends, so no voice is left out.

as usual, i’d like everyone to reply in this thread, or via sms to me, if you’re going to be able to make it for this session. if you’re facing difficulties making it for this session, do let me know as well via comments under this post so that we can consider making adjustments to accommodate everybody.

we’ll be needing another console, sc4 CD and 2 sticks. aheda and dtarchon have contributed their consoles in previous sessions, so it’d be cool if someone else could step up for this session; it’d be much appreciated! kindly comment in this post if you can contribute 🙂

i look forward to seeing responses for everybody, and a full house this saturday!

About taxi08

I'm the admin for soulsg.wordpress.com, the definitive WP for the Singapore Soul Calibur community, otherwise known as Soul SG. What's Soul Calibur? The Soul Calibur series of fighting games was developed by Namco, beginning with the release of Soul Edge for the Playstation in 1996. Ironically, its sequel was titled Soul Calibur. A best-selling game for the Sega Dreamcast, Soul Calibur received rave reviews, with gaming reviewers citing it as one of the greatest games of all time, if not the greatest. Notably, it received perfect 10 review scores from IGN, Gamespot, and Famitsu (notorious for their stringent reviews). The success of Soul Calibur spawned multiple sequels: Soul Calibur 2 (2002), Soul Calibur 3 (2005), a spin-off adventure game Soul Calibur Legends (2007), and the latest iteration, Soul Calibur 4 (2008). Who are we? We're a group of dedicated fighting game players, ranging all ages and walks of life. Some of us are newcomers to the fighting game scene, and some of us have been playing fighting games for ages. But for some reason all of us are drawn to Soul Calibur. I'd like to think that besides the inherent strengths of Soul Calibur as a fighting game, it's because Soul SG is one of the strongest and close-knit gaming communities out there. And what binds Soul SG together is a passion for Soul Calibur, and a dream to see Singaporean Soul Calibur players on the world stage. Within the Soul SG WP,you'll find videos, strategy, announcements... basically anything and everything related to Soul SG. So if you've an interest for Soul Calibur, join us! View all posts by taxi08

33 responses to “our 2nd monthly console session!

  • フォオオオーーー

    still need mine?

  • Shen Yu

    If there’s gonna be a PS3, I can bring my stick.

  • AbbiyR

    I can contribute my x360 and stick.

  • Aheda

    ooo AbbiyR bringing your Box?
    That means ONE MORE crazy demented mind to explore!! (your custom chars. lol)

    I’ll probably just bring ma rider stix then.

    Also, be nice to me on Saturday ok? 😛

  • フォオオオーーー

    i’ve got 2 sticks basically, or you guys want to play SC using the Guitar~!~! Macross7 style~~! (man i should try it myself)

    PS: i’ve been on a losing streak this week…. need to do something about it >.<

  • taxi08

    thanks to the volunteers!

    abbiyr: if you don’t mind we’ll use your xbox360 for this session. i think many of us have xbox360 sticks, so it should be enough if you bring the console. where do you live? batou’s place is at serangoon, so maybe we could coordinate to find a place where i could fetch you (yes i drive 😀 )

    everyone else: we only have room for 2 setups, so abbiyr’s console is enough. maybe team shen could bring their xbox360 sticks?

    フォオオオーーー: i’m really sorry but who are you again? :p

  • Shen Yu

    Should be Whirow. Lol.

  • AbbiyR

    taxi:
    of coz i dont mind. just send a sms to you. one question, i only got the VGA cable, is that ok?

    Aheda:
    my custom chars? I can show you my SAILOR-HULK. She’s mean and green but got a strange taste for her hair style. Be nice to you? lolz.. I thought I should be the one saying that.

    フォオオオーーー:
    hmm…. with me around, I am sure you will pwn someone. (that’s me duh!). ^_^

  • Aheda

    If you need a HDMI cable I can bring mine along. Its barely baggage and I have it set aside anyway (I use VGA too)

  • boogalogist

    Damn, I can’t attend this as I will be in KL. I need more offline practice!! Online matches just suck balls compared to it. I’m losing interest just playing online matches!

    AbbiyR:
    Does this strange taste for hair style means like colourful afro hair? Our minds are already tainted with the image of SHEAGLE!! (Ask the rest about Aheda’s abomination!)

    フォオオオーーー:
    How does it feel like playing SC4 with the guitar controller? 😀

    Aheda:
    Show him the wrath of the KKK!! Awesome custom chars you have in your repetoire…especially the pinkish/purplish ones.

  • AbbiyR

    Aheda:
    my console does NOT support HDMI. ^_^
    So, I guess I can bring my VGA cable. My component is “stuck” to my TV, thus, the reason I cant bring it.

    boogalogist:
    well, you got it right about Afro hair. 😀
    but frankly, me and friends create some gay chars just for the laugh.

    all:
    I will still be bringing my stick along. me scared of breaking you guys stick.

  • AbbiyR

    hey guys,
    just asking if you guys mind if I bring my online buddies along? 2 of them to be exact. One of them is actually my online sparring partner. Let me know what you guys think.

    Thanks.

  • Hiro フォオオ

    lol ^^: who else goes フォオオオーーー
    Tax: i still kanna pwn by you leh….
    Booga: i’ll try tonight lol

    how do i put a picture on that little square anyways ^^;

  • Aheda

    AbbiyR: Anyone from BOB?
    I’d love to meet with them 🙂

    Hiro: I think It has to do with wordpress account 😛

  • Shen Yu

    Yeah. Get a wordpress account and you can have a funny little avatar thingy.

  • Hiro

    i tried the guitar play~ i have all 4 buttons +2 directions~ step ftw~!~!

  • AbbiyR

    Aheda:
    yes and no, they are not regular BoBer but they have accounts there. 🙂

  • taxi08

    abbiyr: no problem!

    speaking of which, maybe we should do some sort of outreach to BoB…

  • Akabane

    I don’t mind bring my PS3 and my stick. If you guys still need, can contact me at 92341920.

  • taxi08

    akabane, i think since abbiyr is bringing the console, and we’re going to be using xbox360 sticks, it’s okay 🙂

    but please come down this saturday!

  • AbbiyR

    morning guys!

    hi akabane,
    yeap, I will be bringing my console to showcase my “crazy” custom chars. ^_^

  • Akabane

    Ok. I will be there. See you guys this sat.

  • boogalogist

    wtf is BoB?

  • AbbiyR

    Hi boogalogist,

    you can find BoB below.
    http://www.bob.com.sg/forum/

    most of the members are xbox console owners.

    ^_^

  • Aheda

    Akabane: Anyone amongst your crew coming down? Zero/Tom/Panther etc. etc.

  • Hiro

    dang that means no vader?

  • AbbiyR

    hey look at the bright side. u get to play yoda.

    ^_^

  • Akabane

    I doubt they will come. Zero still in US. No Zero = No Tom. Panther is a maozer. I need direction to get to CK’s house. Raar! Will Sms soon I guess.

  • AbbiyR

    hey guys,

    great session! really learn more about SC4. OMG! Algol Infinite! Also other new moves as well of Mitsu and Maxi. Also, I learned how you guys do testing on combos in training modes. Going to try that on myself next time. 🙂

    Besides about gaming, I am really glad to meet such a lively and friendly community. Looking forward to the next session.

    Thanks again.

    ^_^

  • AbbiyR

    Oh… one more thing.
    I want to apologise if I offended anyone when I used my custom chars.

    actually, I seldom used the default costume for online and offline play.

  • boogalogist

    Hope everyone had fun last week..too bad I couldn’t join.
    Hopefully I’ll be around for the next one!

  • taxi08

    abbiyr: don’t worry about it! your custom characters were hilarious 🙂

Leave a comment